Connect with us

Understanding The Five Love Languages And How It Affects Your Relationships


Understanding The Five Love Languages And How It Affects Your Relationships

A language is any set of words or body of signs that’s recognised by a community, and is used as a form of communication. Basically, language is anything that facilitates effective communication between two or more parties.

Language is one of the factors that defines us as humans, out of the remaining living creatures that God created. It’s a way of life, and an element of culture. And that leads us to another question which goes thus; What’s a Love Language?

A Love Language can be described as an emotional code of communication by an individual to other people. It’s a way by which a particular person expresses love to the people he/she cares about. I’m pretty sure this is not the first time you’re hearing about the five love languages, and if it is, I just defined what a love language mean above.

How does the five love languages affect the fate of people in marriage, courtships, or dating relationships? It has the same effect on all these three stages of emotional partnership. The differences are too minute to be considered a big deal. Before I go to that, let me briefly discuss about the five love languages first.

The concept was brought to us by American best-selling author, Gary Chapman, in his relationship book titled “The Five Love Languages: How To Express Heartfelt Commitment To Your Mate.”

Did you see the sub-topic? The book simply taught everyone that has read it about how to express heartfelt love to their mates. Without the five love languages, building a long-term relationship can’t be possible. Just my own hypothesis, anyways. Lol.

Back to the main discussion, what are the five love languages. They’re are highlighted as follows:

1. Words of Affirmation

One of the ways to express your love to your mate is by telling them words that make them feel special. “I love you so much.” “You’re the best thing that has ever happened to me”

These kinda words, as little as it sounds, mean a lot to some partners in relationships. When you say words of affirmation to your partner, it renews their commitment and confidence about the relationship.

2. Quality Time

We live in a world where a lot of stuffs and activities are competing for our time and attention. Spending quality time with the person you love, despite your tight schedule, is another simple to let them know how much you care about them. If you want to make your lover happy, create valuable time for them. I don’t have to talk further about this love language.

3. Acts Of Service

This love language describes the way of showing love by doing things for the person you love. It can be as simple as doing laundry for him or her, or helping them to buy groceries from the mall. When we really love someone, there’s this innate desire to do things for them. We call this love language as “Acts of Service.”

4. Physical Touch

Another love language to express our passion for a lover is by physical touch. Hugs, cuddling, kisses and so on, are little forms of physical touches that usually happen between loved-up couples. To many of us, it’s just a romantic gesture. Nope, it’s more than that! Physical touching is a language of love.

5. Gifts and Presents

The last love language is the buying of gifts and presents. Over the world, It’s seen as a pretty normal stuff for couples to gift themselves presents. Yeah, it is! However, it should be noted too, that gifts and presents are forms of communication too.

When you buy them gifts, you want them to know how much you love them. It’s also one of the the most abused out of the five love languages. I will talk about it in another blog post later. Lol!

So, how does these five love languages affects dating relationships and marriages? For every human connection, the success or failure of such relationships hinges on one thing — communication. And without a common language, there can be no form of communication, and where there’s no communication, there’s no relationship. It’s as simple as that!

A proper understanding of the five love languages and how to use them decides the stability and success of your relationship. They are the paddles that keeps it sailing in the right direction, even when the storm is against your dating relationship. What’s more important is that you and your spouse speak the same love language. Therefore, you are expected to know your partner’s love language and communicate it to them more often.

The big question is, “do you know your own love language?” If you don’t, I’ll advise you to download a copy of the book I mentioned in the earlier parts of this blog post. You can also know your love language by visiting the 5 Love Languages’ website.

On the site, answer the questions briefly. Once you’re done, your personal love language will be revealed to you. I did mine, and my love language is “Quality Time.” If you wanna show me love, spend more time with me. Lol.

I hope you understand what the five love languages mean now, and why you have to communicate it to your lovers. Thanks for reading through. If you have any questions, kindly drop them in the comments section. I’ll take my time to answer them.

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Lifestyle

To Top